Dear Desiree


Happy New Year! I have actually been busy so the last couple of months I haven’t been able to write you.  I apologize for that, but hopefully one day you will be able to reap the fruits from my labor.

Wow, its been an amazing year, and all things changed for the better once you were born.  It put a lot of things in perspective.  All my wants are slowly coming to me, now I have a road map to where I need to be and do.  And while I don’t know how much time I have left, I am hoping I have enough to build upon a foundation that one day you will be able to utilize.

Its amazing that just a few months ago you were saying daddy, not knowing why…and look, today you are reaching out to me saying daddy.  It was like striking gold at that moment. Your personality is flourishing and for the most part your independence is already showing.

You came out looking like my twin, morphed into your mother and now I am slowly seeing both of our features in you physically and mentally.  Around the New Year, I like to just look at all the things that I’ve, We’ve over come.  Truth is, each year you, we, get just a little bit more out of life that we wanted.  Its really a body of work that you have to look at.  You then, you now. Growth is an amazing thing.

I always start out optimistic at the beginning of the year.  I feel like someone has hit that reset button and we can try all over again what we failed to do before or was not able to even get started.  So with this letter I just want you to know that dreams do come true.  Maybe not exactly when you want them to, but if your poised, resilient and focused, thats a force to be reckoned with, and I am sure you will always come out the victor, after all the only thing that stands in your way of victory is time.

Either you want, or you dont, in which case either is really fine, but never give up on the things that you want.  Remember a lot of people have been faced with negativity and doubt, but the ones that stuck with it are the successful ones.

And success is not always measured by your…

 

Love Always

Dad

7 responses to “Dear Desiree

  1. That’s how kids look changes in the first few years. It’s amazing how they can look completely like one parent then they look completely like the other parent until eventually you start seeing attributes of both parent.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh thanks, you know I do have a passion for writing, I want to be able to share my passion with her. It keeps me writing and it slowly but surely will give her hints about me that real life wont be able to provide.

    Like

  3. Thanks so much! I just want her to know that while I may be her dad, I am human too. I kind of lost that about my parents. They were gods, and only now do I look at them like people if that makes sense.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes but I am happy my baby girl takes more after mother right now. I don’t know I’d make for an attractive woman lol. Actually I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t lol

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you will...

