The Ghosts of Our Culture


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Simply the Best.”

Simply the Best

NASA is building a new Voyager spacecraft that will carry the best of modern human culture. What belongs onboard?

Wow this is an interesting prompt, what of our culture belongs onboard.  The best thing that I could think of are three items but the value and quantity may prove to be more than one spacecraft can handle.  If you are looking at back at any specific people in any specific origin you can always find it beneath the dirt.  You can find pottery, tools used for hunting and such,  you can even find the bones of those before us somewhere if you know where to look.  That will only tell you what we used and how we perhaps were able to advance in life.

I guess this prompt has me looking at the true culture of the people and the only thing that I can think of that can accurately depict the lives and emotions and culture of any one group of people is through one our photographs.  We were able to learn a lot about ancient civilizations based on the pictures that have been stained or carved in the walls and in their pottery.  Whats even more interesting is that we learn by imitation by what we see, so this is a brilliant way to look back at our culture.

The second would be our music.  Out of all the genres don’t they tell of a certain lifestyle and the emotions that come from it.  An in depth look by audio of stories seen, lived, is an amazing approach to look at ones culture to hear the sounds of joy, pain, contentment, and sentiment all wrapped up in the culture of our lives.  It may even speak of our demise.

Last but not least, my favorite books! this will show an even closer look at our culture what we thought about, how we gained, our thoughts on our losses, what we viewed as entertainment, stories that shaped our views, happenings that were predicted.  Its amazing what you can find in a world if your not afraid to look at it for what it is.  I always that if any one really wanted to change all they had to do is pay attention to what was going on and then be the change they wanted to see.

That last bit was a quote, its not my words, but I read it at one point and thought it would fit brilliantly.  Wish I remembered the person to give them credit.

Photo Credit| https://pixabay.com/en/ghost-weird-mystery-person-walking-376906/

4 responses to “The Ghosts of Our Culture

  1. I agree with everything you picked. That’s the best response I’ve read yet. Oh, and the quote is by Mahatma Gandhi, though I understand there is some debate about exactly how he said that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I couldn’t remember, but yes I know of this debate as well. Thanks I appreciate your feedback you know I was thinking and thinking about culture and the best way to represent it. this was the best I could do I read some interesting post about this as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your thoughts on this. Pictures, music and books, although I am trying to figure out, did you mean that books are your favorite, or did you mean to pack your favorite books? (Apparently, my filter still has a few holes…)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lol , yes because I consider myself a writer, I would say out of those collections books would be my preferred favorite to go over our culture and the many different perceptions . Thanks for taking the time to try and understand my meanings it is a beautiful and rewarding feeling that my words are not just there without comprehension 😁 I’m really happy about that

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you will...

