What Values are Worth


This is all I have
who am I
without these words
thoughts and material things
Can I determine what is good enough
if I haven’t defined what good is
to me
or shall I climb underneath the arm
of societal meaning
claiming the beliefs of brainwashed individuals
depending on their reliable ideas
to set mine free

This is all I have
but what is this car
these clothes
this job
money and shoes really mean
is it not a lease on life
scientific measurement
a project
sizing up competition

survival of the fittest, in which
no one knows their part
pitting me against him, her, and
them, to say what
I am better?

Yet I am not, and it has been duly noted
I feel better claiming my difference
sending soulfood to those
who can digest multiple concepts
exploring my view discovering others
being better for me
and what I go through

One day we will pass
and while I may not last
nor any of these selfish indulgent
materials I am
Maybe this notebook will outlast
exposing the mediocre journeys
to the travelers twist and turns
and turbulent past

and if it is read
may I feel avenged at last
able to relax and escape
the life of losing sight
of what the meaning of living
really has

let the present be worth more
than our deceptive and earnest
quondam

Photo Credit|  https://pixabay.com/en/masks-persona-duality-polarity-827729/

4 responses to “What Values are Worth

  1. …shall I climb underneath the arm of societal meaning claiming the beliefs of brainwashed individuals depending on their reliable ideas
    to set mine free…
    Hon, I doubt there’s much danger of you EVER doing that. You think and feel far too deeply. You know what matters in your soul where it counts. {{{J}}}

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I appreciate that calensariel, I surely hope so but we all have our moments of weakness. I often wonder when will defeat have one surrender. They say if you can’t beat them join them. I really don’t want to though, I kind of like the feeling of being original.

    Like

  3. Which is why I don’t think you’ll ever give in. You KNOW who you are. And more importantly you know who you WANT to be as a person. That’s a powerful gift, J.

    Like

Say what you will...

