Dying Sacrifice


I hope all had a very Happy Easter. After leaving church today I kind of wonder if we are supposed to be happy at all. The values of Easter, is not for some eggs, gifts, candy and easter eggs. Do we forget to realize this sometimes. Todays service talked about it being a day to remember sacrifices, be it the ones you made for love ones or for those to recognize the sacrifices you made for them. It is about being able to recognize and be aware of what is really going on around you. Not all of us are out for your best benefit, not all of us want to see you shine, not all of us want to see you hurt either. If you are religious or if you are not and do not believe in the tenements of Easter, it is a good moment to take and reflect on what you have, and why you have it. We take for granted so many things that we turn the once believers of the tenements of human nature, kindness and giving into the monsters that we see walking around the world today. We have created who we are trying to cast out of society.

I guess there is always another side to the story. I am by far perfect, but in my moments when I can realize-I can do just a little more, I like to at least try or I would like to think that I do. It would be wonderful if we got back to the place of people helping people. For whatever reason I just felt the need to post this today, I believe we are the masters of our own happiness, we need not just be christians or believers of on Sunday. Its a journey we all struggle with everyday. Whatever we believe if we were at least, the people we want to be every day, how would the world really be right now?

Ive been very blessed in my time here and I’m sure you have too. that doesn’t go to say that I or we have everything wished for or wanted, but I hope we all realize what we’re grateful for. And for this reason I say Happy belated Easter. It is a happy time indeed. We should not fear death, we should fear whether what we did during our time on earth was enough. Remember it is never to late to be who you want to be or do what you want to do.

2 responses to “Dying Sacrifice

  1. I think what you said, JMD, is so important to remember. We couldn’t have Easter without the blood of Holy Week. But sometimes — if we’re only living out our faith on Sundays — we skip right from Palm Sunday to Easter and miss the part about what it cost.

    There’s a lot in scripture that I stumble my way through these days, but one thing rings so true to me. Jesus said, “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” And that kind of sacrifice can be as small as holding a door open for someone carrying a baby.

    I firmly believe the only way to find one’s life is to lose it for other’s sakes. Loved this blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you will...

