Angry Eyed



Isn’t it amazing that only a few hundred years ago, a group of people decided to come up with a guide on how to keep another group of people down. Ultimately affecting generations of families-past, future, and present. What’s even more interesting is, it didn’t stop with one group, it transcended to the likes of race, ethnic backgrounds, sexual preference, religion, ageism, sexism, etc… creating a plague like infection of minds, spreading a world wide disease that hurts us more than it helps. This should be the real war on terror. I don’t know what it stemmed from, power, money, or social status but it really hurts to see the way we treat each other. Especially since we are all human- have we completely given up on each other…Aren’t we still healing, or do we even care anymore?

Watching Jane Elliot, diversity trainer, and internationally known lecturer for the Blue Eye/Brown Eye exercise (Check out her website http://www.janeelliott.com/), and Mental Health Association Award recipient, for excellence in education, has taught me more than I would like to admit. In the training video it connected me to my experiences, it made me reflect, not just what happens to me, but how I treat others as well. It made me cling to the notion that we all have to be the change that we want to see. Being that we are all different, brought up under different experiences and obstacles, it would be safe to say we all have various visions of what types of change should be- or what we could do to make the universe a place worth living in, and for that fact- I say simply treat people how you would like to be treated.

to be honest it takes a lot of courage to be the person that stands out from the crowd and build upon the character we’ve always  dreamed ourselves to be.

Someone once told me “Jamarow, you need to voice your opinion and stand for something, or you will fall for everything”.( I admit at my young age I decided to stand up for all the wrong things-perhaps I still do) I was just a young buck then. I am very impressionable because I like to listen to just about everyone, I love the climactic points in conversation when you see passion boiling over its like having your cake with the cherry on top. I feel like its seeing the true person the one behind all shields and barriers and I indulge. I partake in those who impart themselves, baring fruits of understanding and logic, I think its amazing when you run into people that are passionate about their craft, themselves, their feelings towards something. That’s what they stand for. And ultimately you decide what you eat and digest.  No one has the power over you but you, but we must hold ourselves accountable for whichever we decide.

It is very hard to realize something so simple we make everything difficult because of the complexities it brings. I am the person that yells be clear in a room full of chatter, but commit the offense of not explaining clearly to everyone what it is that I really mean.  This is just one layer.

I say this to show that we all know ourselves best, what our best attributes are right down to the worse. We all have to take responsibility for allowing such brutality to happen to each other. I don’t want to make this a rant based on race, but one that urges us all to look at humanity. There are bad apples in every demographic. Newton’s third law states “For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction” and you could easily combine Murphy’s law to clarify that “things will go wrong in any given situation, if you give them a chance,” or more commonly, “whatever can go wrong, will go wrong.” Have you ever been accused of doing something when you didn’t, how did you feel and how did you react? When I watched the first video I was able to see how easily people fall into the position that they were given. and I love how 2pac conveys the story about salami being thrown around in the room, at some point we all reach our levels, and sometimes we have to understand that accidents happen, and sometimes we have to be wise enough to know when accidents are intentional. 

I know, I know, all this from watching these 3 segments.  Thanks for listening to the rant lets stop focusing on the little things and focus on taking care of each other.

11 responses to “Angry Eyed

  1. Be a prophet my brother. Continue to see through the incantations that would divide us. The Isley Bros. sang a song about Fighting the power when I was young. But we must be wise and understand the war. Wise as serpents and harmless as doves.The power don’t give a fuck about color they only care about function. That is why I think they are “restocking” with the folks south of the boarder. The word Christian used to be a cuss word and an excuse to kill. Back then they didn’t lynch they fed em to lions. Same shit. My people were Indians and poor white trash back in the day. We need each other. Dr, King was killed because he saw through color into the money and politics and false religion and it shook the foundations of the rulers of this world. You go brother. You preach. You let your voice be heard. Let justice rain down like water every where you feet may trod! May you be inspired and strengthened and encouraged by the vision the Creator has put in you.

    Like

  2. What can I say? Awesome experiment in the 60’s. Today the school would be sued by angry parents.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on tripleclicka and commented:
    I you choose not to take the time to read every word and watch every video of this man’s post, you will never take the time, nor put in the effort to make a difference. No excuses.

    Like

  4. That third video clip was amazing. To see her work with those kids… You wonder why we’re not doing that today. And your commentary was very eloquent. Highly enlightening.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was not familiar with this experiment. Thank you for sharing it. I’m going to reblog this, the first time on my current blog. I don’t reblog a lot, but this is a post worth sharing. Love what you wrote.

    Like

Say what you will...

