When A Poet Speaks


Words I speak breath life;
expressions that question humane responses
acceptance, denial, experience-
soliloquies emotional survival.
an essence birthed from the breath of one word.

Where pregnated sounds vibrate
sentiments of petitioned drums crying aloud
yet fearful of abortions weight
just wait- waiting to observe
waiting for the wind to carry courageous sounds

hoping to be heard
haunting convictions percipience
pervading deep seeded cultivation
pay attention
because meanings are buried deep

and I do not wish to lose these words of life
this bible of truth
this road of condemning whose wrong or right
I do not wish to spill this ink on my paper
for it to be torn lost dismantled or forgotten

I do not speak these words to be shunned
to be made folly
to stagnate and deter
ethos, logos or pathos
I do not wish these to fly by ears in ill will

I only wish to give the best of me
to share an understanding perhaps shared by many
yet felt by none
to give a voice to reason and beg for some
to inspire the instruments of life to share and help us to understand some

Words I speak breath life;
expressions that question humane responses
acceptance, denial, experience-
soliloquies emotional survival.
an essence birthed from the breath of one word.

Oh I need you to hear me
Feel the words I speak
envelope you-develop you
hold you in a blackout-blowing your mind
spiritually shadow dancing around lifetimes

around the brain causing tumors of pain
then back out and lash out
while I Commit verbal
mood swings
a plethora of instances the tendencies of life brings

Words of life hold meaning
might be true, could be mean
but
oh well its just feelings expression
received deeds

visions of spoken sound fluttering
journeys serene being
Free un-adultered scenes- Dreams
landscaped filled
thoughts and images

concoct blurred lines and question marked
themes
orion’s sun-melted belt sitting sound in a clouded sky-line
high-rise
words breath taking reverent vague tongue

Relive
perspectives shadowed existence
After all its from the slanted eye’s
point of view from which we speak
Respect the words of experience

they end up meaning more than what was first believed.

25 responses to “When A Poet Speaks

  1. Your words serve as a blessing. Thank you so much for the compliment and the kind words. I also think your amazing. Just maybe we will be able to work together one day Im hoping to need your services at some point in my professional life 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much, I don’t know what moved me to write this, but I find when I am moved in writing I can really get things working the way I envisioned. Still working on identifying my creative process.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Oh I need you to hear me
    Feel the words I speak
    envelope you-develop you
    hold you in a blackout-blowing your mind
    spiritually shadow dancing around lifetimes”

    I thought of jazz or live music in general when a comp is needed form the other musicians as well as the audience for the music to live. It is not a long piece. It is itself a snapshot of eternity, truth brought into time. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, its scary to be out in front of all those people with those searching eyes. I guess sometimes we have to get over our fears. Maybe one day I can face being the focus in a crowded room.

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you will...

